DraftKings Alberta Review
We may earn commission from operators listed here. How we make money.
18+ · Play responsibly · Get help
Editorial verdict
DraftKings runs a sportsbook, a casino and live dealer games in Alberta, operated by Crown DK CAN Ltd. under an AGLC iGaming operator registration, and takes Interac and PayPal deposits. The catch: its Alberta pages list no withdrawal methods or limits, and we found no phone number.
Is DraftKings legal in Alberta?
Yes. DraftKings is run by Crown DK CAN Ltd., which holds an AGLC "iGaming - Operator" registration. DraftKings is also on AiGC's Registered iGaming Sites list. Products in Alberta: online casino and sportsbook. (Alberta Gaming, Liquor and Cannabis Commission (AGLC) (external site), Alberta iGaming Corporation (AiGC) (external site)) Checked ; AGLC registration runs to . Full legal status
Pros
- Sportsbook, casino and live dealer games are live in Alberta, under an AGLC iGaming operator registration that runs to July 13, 2027.
- Deposit with Interac, PayPal, or Visa, Mastercard, Discover and American Express cards.
- Seven safer-gambling tools, from deposit, spending, wager and time limits to cool-off breaks and self-exclusion, plus AGLC's Alberta self-exclusion program.
Cons
- DraftKings' Alberta pages list deposit methods but no withdrawal methods or limits. Its Alberta Terms say withdrawals are honoured within five business days, and its one withdrawal table is a Canada-wide page that never mentions Alberta.
- We found no phone number: DraftKings' contact page offers a Help Center chatbot, an X account and a Boston mailing address, with callbacks for US and Ontario customers only, and its Alberta Terms add an email address.
We haven't opened an account or moved money with DraftKings. This review is built from its Alberta Terms of Use and Privacy Statement, its help pages, its app-store listings and the AGLC and AiGC lists, checked 3 Oct 2026.
Key facts
- Withdrawal time
- Not stated
- Min deposit
- Not stated
- Apps
- iOS & Android
- Live dealer
- Yes
- Support
- Live chat, Email
Owned by DraftKings Inc. (NASDAQ: DKNG)Online since 201226 regulator actions since 2016 (largest: US$500,000 settlement, Ohio Casino Control Commission, 2023 (external site))
Regulatory record
| Date | Regulator | Amount | Reason | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Massachusetts Gaming Commission | US$7,500 | Catalog noncompliance Aug 2025 Against Crown MA Gaming, LLC (same brand, another market). | Regulator notice (external site) | |
| New Jersey Division of Gaming Enforcement | US$7,500 | Violation of sports wagering rules Against DraftKings (same brand, another market). | Regulator notice (external site) | |
| Massachusetts Gaming Commission | US$6,500 | Catalog noncompliance (notice is a scanned image; details not read) Against Crown MA Gaming, LLC d/b/a DraftKings (same brand, another market). | Regulator notice (external site) | |
| Massachusetts Gaming Commission | US$10,000 | Catalog noncompliance (notice is a scanned image; details not read) Against Crown MA Gaming, LLC d/b/a DraftKings (same brand, another market). | Regulator notice (external site) | |
| New Jersey Division of Gaming Enforcement | US$32,500 | Violations of multiple rules regarding sports wagering Against DraftKings (same brand, another market). | Regulator notice (external site) | |
| New Jersey Division of Gaming Enforcement | US$500 | Failing to comply with transactional waiver rules Against Golden Nugget Online Gaming (group company). | Regulator notice (external site) | |
| Massachusetts Gaming Commission | US$450,000 | Accepted 1,160 wagers funded by 242 credit-card deposits (banned in MA) Mar 2023 to Feb 2024; fixes failed three times; audit ordered Against Crown MA Gaming, LLC d/b/a DraftKings (same brand, another market). | Regulator notice (external site) | |
| New Jersey Division of Gaming Enforcement | US$2,000 | Reason not stated in the Director's summary (Notice of Violation) Against Golden Nugget Online Gaming (group company). | Regulator notice (external site) | |
| New Jersey Division of Gaming Enforcement | US$2,000 | Violation of sports wagering rules Against DraftKings (same brand, another market). | Regulator notice (external site) | |
| New Jersey Division of Gaming Enforcement | US$20,000 | Permitting wagering on unapproved and prohibited events Against DraftKings (same brand, another market). | Regulator notice (external site) | |
| Ohio Casino Control Commission | US$425,000 settlement | Took bets on college player props after the ban and allowed an unapproved funding source (cash deposits at non-gaming retail sites) Against Crown OH Gaming, LLC (same brand, another market). | Regulator notice (external site) | |
| Massachusetts Gaming Commission | US$30,000 | Offered wagers on an unapproved tennis league (UTR Pro series) Against Crown MA Gaming LLC d/b/a DraftKings (same brand, another market). | Regulator notice (external site) | |
| Indiana Gaming Commission | US$1,500 settlement | Employee worked without a Level 2 licence Against Crown IN Gaming, LLC d/b/a DraftKings (same brand, another market). | Regulator notice (external site) | |
| New Jersey Division of Gaming Enforcement | US$100,000 | Filing inaccurate financial information with regard to sports wagering Against DraftKings (same brand, another market). | Regulator notice (external site) | |
| Pennsylvania Gaming Control Board | US$10,000 | Let Pennsylvania players access 'Reignmakers' fantasy contests after the Board ordered them withdrawn (fantasy product, not sportsbook) Against Crown PA DFS, Inc., d/b/a DraftKings (same brand, another market). | Regulator notice (external site) | |
| New Jersey Division of Gaming Enforcement | US$7,500 | Violation of self- exclusion rules Against DraftKings (same brand, another market). | Regulator notice (external site) | |
| Ohio Casino Control Commission | US$500,000 settlement | Mailed ads to about 2,582 under-21s, ads without clear problem-gambling message, and 'free' promotions that required risking money Against Crown OH Gaming, LLC (same brand, another market). | Regulator notice (external site) | |
| Alcohol and Gaming Commission of Ontario | CA$100,000 | Broad TV and social-media promotion of boosted 2:1 odds (inducement ban, Standard 2.05) Against Crown DK CAN Ltd. (the Alberta operating company). | Regulator notice (external site) | |
| New Jersey Division of Gaming Enforcement | US$50,000 | Failing to comply with notice requirements Against Golden Nugget Online Gaming (group company). | Regulator notice (external site) | |
| New Jersey Division of Gaming Enforcement | US$150,000 | Negligently allowing a patron to engage in proxy wagering Against DraftKings (same brand, another market). | Regulator notice (external site) | |
| Indiana Gaming Commission | US$2,500 settlement | Late licence application Against Crown IN Gaming LLC d/b/a Draftkings (same brand, another market). | Regulator notice (external site) | |
| Indiana Gaming Commission | US$6,000 settlement | Voluntary-exclusion breach, late licence application and late termination notices Against Crown IN Gaming LLC d/b/a Draftkings (same brand, another market). | Regulator notice (external site) | |
| New Jersey Division of Gaming Enforcement | US$10,000 | Violating regulations against marketing to self-excluded persons Against DraftKings (same brand, another market). | Regulator notice (external site) | |
| New Jersey Division of Gaming Enforcement | US$500 | Marketing rules Against DraftKings (same brand, another market). | Regulator notice (external site) | |
| Indiana Gaming Commission | US$11,500 settlement | Event-category approval, system-reporting and platform-change rule breaches Against Crown IN Gaming LLC d/b/a Draftkings (same brand, another market). | Regulator notice (external site) | |
| Indiana Gaming Commission | US$10,000 settlement | Event-category approval and voluntary-exclusion rule breaches Against Crown IN Gaming, LLC d/b/a DraftKings (same brand, another market). | Regulator notice (external site) |
Sources for the facts line
- Owner, DraftKings Inc.: investors.draftkings.com (external site) (checked )
- Online since 2012: en.wikipedia.org (external site) (secondary source) (checked )
DraftKings payment methods and withdrawal times
DraftKings takes four kinds of deposit in Alberta, but its Alberta pages are silent on withdrawals.
Deposits
DraftKings lists Interac, PayPal, and credit or debit cards from Visa, Mastercard, Discover and American Express as its Alberta deposit methods, on both its sportsbook and casino pages. Those pages state no minimum or maximum deposit and no fees.
Its Canada-wide deposit page adds that deposits must come from a payment method in your own name and that PayPal business accounts can't be used. For Interac, you approve the payment in your own online banking. One wrinkle: the Alberta pages list American Express under debit cards as well as credit, while the Canada-wide page says it works as credit only. Check the cashier before you rely on a card.
Withdrawals
DraftKings' Alberta pages list no withdrawal methods, limits or times. Its Alberta Terms of Use say you can ask to withdraw at any time and that requests are honoured within five business days, unless DraftKings has good reason to refuse one. A request counts as honoured once DraftKings processes it, even if a payment processor or bank delays it.
The only method-by-method table we found is a Canada-wide help page that never mentions Alberta. It lists PayPal at $1 to $60,000 in 3 to 5 days, cheques at $15 to $50,000, debit and credit cards at $1 to $25,000 in under 24 hours, and Interac at $1 to $10,000 in 1 to 3 days. Treat those figures as a guide, not a promise for Alberta.
Cheques are mailed. The Alberta Terms say within ten business days; the Canada-wide page says 5 to 7 business days, by FedEx from $100 and Canada Post below. That page also says that if you no longer have the payment method you used, support has to help you get the money out.
The Alberta wallet
Alberta play uses its own wallet. Once you've agreed to the Alberta Terms, an Alberta balance shows in the header, starting at $0.00. Transfers between Alberta and other wallets aren't supported, so an Ontario balance stays in Ontario and you make a fresh deposit before you bet here.
DraftKings' help centre says Alberta customers can withdraw, and that CAD funds can be withdrawn whichever provincial wallet holds them, provided the withdrawal is otherwise eligible.
Stated operator processing times and limits. First-hand deposit and payout speeds have not been personally tested; bank clearing times may vary.
| Method | Deposit | Cashout | Stated speed | Limits |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Credit and Debit Cards (Visa/Mastercard/Discover/American Express) | Yes | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
Fees & sourceSource: DraftKings (external site) | ||||
| PayPal | Yes | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
Fees & sourceSource: DraftKings (external site) | ||||
| Interac | Yes | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
Fees & sourceSource: DraftKings (external site) | ||||
Casino
DraftKings Casino is live in Alberta with live dealer tables, progressive jackpots and leaderboards.
DraftKings says its Alberta casino has thousands of games, including live dealer games (live dealer craps is named), progressive jackpots on eligible games, leaderboards and a quick deposit button. It adds that the game list changes over time. The app-store description names slots, blackjack, roulette and live dealer play.
DraftKings doesn't publish a game count, a studio list or return-to-player figures that we could read for Alberta. The casino has its own Alberta wallet, so funds from other provinces can't be moved in. The casino and the sportsbook are separate apps on both stores.
Sportsbook
DraftKings Sportsbook covers the big North American leagues and soccer, with live betting, streaming and Cash Out on eligible bets.
The Alberta page lists Betting Groups, live betting, live streaming, Status Hub, Cash Out on eligible bets and a quick deposit button. The app-store description names the NFL, NBA, MLB, NHL, soccer, PGA Tour golf, UFC, MMA, boxing, motorsports, esports and college sports, with moneylines, parlays, same-game parlays and player props. That description covers Ontario too, so check the Alberta app for what is actually on offer.
What isn't offered in Alberta
DraftKings says Cash Out applies only to eligible bets placed while you're in Alberta, and its pools contests aren't available here. Daily fantasy sports and Pick6 stopped in Alberta on July 10, 2026, three days before the sportsbook and casino opened. For college sports, the page names Alberta college teams and Alberta college player props.
DraftKings app
DraftKings has separate sportsbook and casino apps for iPhone and Android, and neither works in a mobile browser.
Both apps are free on the Canadian App Store, from seller DRAFTKINGS LLC., and on Google Play, from DraftKings, Inc. The sportsbook app is called DraftKings Sportsbook & Casino and the casino app is DraftKings Casino - Real Money. The iPhone apps need iOS 16.2 or later, and Google Play lists both as adults only, 18+.
The sportsbook and casino pages both say mobile web betting and play isn't supported, so you use the apps or the desktop browser. The listings carry an Alberta line pointing to 211 Alberta, next to the Ontario one. Store scores run from 4.6 to 4.7 out of 5, but they cover every region and say little about Alberta alone.
- iOS app — developer: DRAFTKINGS LLC. (App Store (external site))
- Android app — developer: DraftKings, Inc. (Google Play (external site))
Customer support
DraftKings support runs through a Help Center chatbot, with email, an X account and a mailing address as backups.
DraftKings' contact page tells you to use its chatbot, and logged-out visitors have to verify an email before they can open a case. The other options are an X account, @DK_Assist, and a mailing address in Boston. Both Alberta getting-started pages send you to this page. The help-centre footer says the team is available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week; that line is not specific to Alberta.
The Alberta Terms add email: support@draftkings.com for complaints about funds and for account statements, with a reply promised within five days, and sportsbook@draftkings.com for general disputes. DraftKings aims to settle those within 90 days, after which you can escalate to AGLC. We found no phone number for Alberta; the contact page offers a callback through the chatbot to US and Ontario customers and doesn't name Alberta.
- Live chat: Chatbot in the DraftKings Help Center
- Email: support@draftkings.com
Account and verification
DraftKings checks your age, identity and Canadian address, and your location has to be switched on before you can bet.
To bet or play in Alberta you must be 18 or older, physically in the province, with a verified Canadian address and a passed FINTRAC-compliant identity check. DraftKings' Canada-wide identity page lists the details it collects at sign-up: full legal name, a physical mailing address (no PO boxes or commercial addresses), email, date of birth, occupation, phone number and a PEP/HIO attestation. Enter them exactly as they appear on your ID.
Most checks finish in seconds. If the automatic check fails, DraftKings asks you to scan your driver's licence, which takes minutes, and a manual review by support can take 24 to 48 hours. Contacting support again during that window can delay approval.
Location and account security
DraftKings checks your location before you can bet or play, so allow location access when the app asks. On supported Apple devices, Precise Location has to be on. The sportsbook lists two-factor authentication on login and withdrawal activity, plus biometric and passcode login. The casino lists two-factor as optional and says biometric login isn't available yet.
- Identity verification: DraftKings requires a verified Canadian address and a FINTRAC-compliant identity check before you can bet or play in Alberta. (DraftKings (external site))
- Location verification: You must be physically located within Alberta, and DraftKings checks your location before you can bet or play. (DraftKings (external site))
Responsible-gambling tools
DraftKings lists seven safer-gambling tools for Alberta, and AGLC's Alberta self-exclusion program covers it.
Limits and reminders
The Alberta pages name deposit, spending, wager and time limits, cool-off periods, self-exclusion and session time reminders, and say you can manage them in your account at any time. DraftKings' Canada-wide deposit page says deposit limits can be daily, weekly or monthly. The pages give no figures for the other limits.
Breaks and exclusion
DraftKings' Canada-wide cool-off page lists one day, one week, one month, two months or three months, and says you'll see the options your jurisdiction allows. During a cool-off you can't log in, deposit, bet or play, existing wagers stay live, and DraftKings can't shorten the break. Withdrawals during one go through support.
In-app self-exclusion runs six months, one year or five years and applies everywhere you use DraftKings. You can also enrol in AGLC's program at selfexclusion.ca, choosing casinos and racing entertainment centres, regulated iGaming platforms or both, for six months, one year, two years or three years. It can't be cancelled early, and you can't use DraftKings while it runs.
- Deposit Limits — Cap on how much you can deposit; DraftKings' Canada-wide deposit page says daily, weekly or monthly.
- Spending Limits — Cap on how much you spend; DraftKings gives no period or amount for Alberta.
- Wager Limits — Cap on how much you wager; DraftKings gives no period or amount for Alberta.
- Time Limits — Cap on how long you play; DraftKings gives no period for Alberta.
- Cool-Off Periods — Break from 1 day to 3 months per DraftKings' Canada-wide page; you see the options your jurisdiction allows. DraftKings can't shorten a break once it is set.
- Self-Exclusion — In-app break of 6 months, 1 year or 5 years per DraftKings' Canada-wide page; it applies everywhere you use DraftKings.
- AGLC Self-Exclusion Program — Alberta's province-run program: 6 months, 1, 2 or 3 years, for casinos, regulated iGaming platforms or both; it can't be ended early.
- Session Time Reminders — Reminder of how long you have been playing.
Is DraftKings legal in Alberta?
Yes: DraftKings runs in Alberta under an AGLC iGaming operator registration held by Crown DK CAN Ltd., the company its own Alberta Terms name.
DraftKings holds an AGLC "iGaming - Operator" registration.
The site is operated by Crown DK CAN Ltd.
AGLC's registrant list shows Crown DK CAN Ltd. as a registered iGaming operator running to July 13, 2027, with DraftKings.com printed beside the name. AiGC's Registered iGaming Sites directory lists DraftKings Sportsbook & Casino and links to draftkings.com. Our registered operator tracker shows the same pairing, refreshed weekly from the two lists.
What DraftKings itself says
DraftKings' Alberta Terms of Use (last updated July 10, 2026) say Crown DK CAN Ltd. owns and operates the website, and that it works under an agreement with Alberta iGaming Corporation. Its Alberta Privacy Statement, effective July 10, 2026, names the same company. AGLC's list is where the registration class and expiry date come from.
Who can play
You must be 18 or older, physically in Alberta, and not a prohibited participant. DraftKings opened its sportsbook and casino in the province on July 13, 2026.
Compare every brand AGLC and AiGC list on the registered operator tracker, or see the best online casinos in Alberta, the best casino apps in Alberta, the best Alberta sportsbooks, and the best sports betting apps in Alberta.
Checked .
Frequently asked questions
Is DraftKings legal in Alberta?
Yes. AGLC lists Crown DK CAN Ltd. as an iGaming operator running to July 13, 2027, DraftKings' Alberta Terms name that company as the operator, and AiGC's Registered iGaming Sites directory lists DraftKings Sportsbook & Casino.
When did DraftKings launch in Alberta?
The sportsbook and casino opened on July 13, 2026. Daily fantasy sports and Pick6 stopped in Alberta on July 10, 2026.
What payment methods does DraftKings take in Alberta?
For deposits, Interac, PayPal, and credit or debit cards from Visa, Mastercard, Discover and American Express. Its Alberta pages don't list withdrawal methods.
How long do DraftKings withdrawals take in Alberta?
DraftKings' Alberta Terms say withdrawal requests are honoured within five business days; its Alberta pages give no times by method. A Canada-wide help page that never mentions Alberta lists under 24 hours for cards, 1 to 3 days for Interac and 3 to 5 days for PayPal.
Can I use DraftKings in my phone's browser?
No. DraftKings says mobile web betting and play aren't supported in Alberta; you use the iOS or Android app, or the desktop browser.
Does DraftKings have a phone number for Alberta?
None that we found. Its contact page lists a chatbot, an X account and a Boston mailing address, and offers callbacks to US and Ontario customers; the Alberta Terms add support@draftkings.com.
Can I move my Ontario balance to Alberta?
No. Alberta has its own wallet, transfers between Alberta and other wallets aren't supported, and you make a new deposit before you bet.
Ready to visit DraftKings?
Official Alberta registered site · 18+ only · Play responsibly
Sources and method
- DraftKings — DraftKings Sportsbook and Casino for Alberta - Terms of Use (external site) Checked
- DraftKings — DraftKings Casino in Alberta - Getting Started | DraftKings Help Center (external site) Checked
- DraftKings — DraftKings Sportsbook in Alberta - Getting Started | DraftKings Help Center (external site) Checked
- DraftKings — Depositing on DraftKings - Overview (CA) | DraftKings Help Center (external site) Checked
- DraftKings — DraftKings Cool Off Period - Overview (CA) | DraftKings Help Center (external site) Checked
- DraftKings — DraftKings Self-Exclusion - Overview (CA) | DraftKings Help Center (external site) Checked
- DraftKings — Alberta's Self-Exclusion Program | DraftKings Help Center (external site) Checked
- Apple App Store / Google Play — DraftKings Sportsbook & Casino and DraftKings Casino - Real Money, Canadian store listings (external site) Checked
- DraftKings — How do I contact DraftKings Customer Support? | DraftKings Help Center (external site) Checked
- Alberta Gaming, Liquor and Cannabis Commission (AGLC) — AGLC Gaming Registrants (iGaming - Operator listing, 2026-10-03) (external site) Checked
- DraftKings — Updates in Alberta, Canada - Overview | DraftKings Help Center (external site) Checked
- DraftKings — Are there any minimum or maximum limits on withdrawals? (CA) | DraftKings Help Center (external site) Checked
- DraftKings — Canada Location Restrictions | DraftKings Help Center (external site) Checked
- DraftKings — Why am I being asked to verify my identity? (CA) | DraftKings Help Center (external site) Checked