Betway Alberta Review
We may earn commission from operators listed here. How we make money.
18+ · Play responsibly · Get help
Editorial verdict
Betway is an AGLC-registered operator covering a sportsbook and a casino, with Alberta terms, live chat and email support, and a responsible-gambling page that lists deposit, loss and session limits, breaks and self-exclusion. The catch: we found no Alberta page listing payment methods or timings, and no Alberta app.
Is Betway legal in Alberta?
Yes. Betway is run by Cadway Limited, which holds an AGLC "iGaming - Operator" registration. Betway is also on AiGC's Registered iGaming Sites list. Products in Alberta: online casino and sportsbook. (Alberta Gaming, Liquor and Cannabis (AGLC) (external site), Alberta iGaming Corporation (AiGC) (external site)) Checked ; AGLC registration runs to . Full legal status
Pros
- AGLC lists Cadway Limited as an iGaming operator running to July 13, 2027, with betway.ca printed beside it, and AiGC's directory lists Betway.
- A sportsbook covering hockey, football, basketball, soccer, UFC and many more sports, plus a casino lobby with live casino, slots and table games.
- Deposit, loss and session limits, a break of 24 hours to three months, self-exclusion from six months to five years, and an activity statement.
Cons
- We found no Alberta page listing payment methods, minimum deposits or per-method withdrawal times, only a pending period of up to 72 hours.
- Deposit limits are set through albertasupport@betway.ca or live chat, not shown as an account-page tool in the text we captured.
We haven't opened an account or moved money with Betway. This review is built from its Alberta terms, responsible-gambling, privacy, betting-rules and landing pages, plus the AGLC and AiGC lists, fetched on 16 October 2026 from Limassol, Cyprus (not an Alberta connection) and checked 16 Oct 2026. Where we found nothing, we say so.
Key facts
- Withdrawal time
- Not stated
- Min deposit
- Not stated
- Apps
- Not stated
- Live dealer
- Yes
- Support
- Live chat, Email
Casino
Betway's Alberta casino page shows a lobby with live casino, slots, jackpots, blackjack, roulette, baccarat and more, but no provider list or game counts.
The casino landing page lists these lobby categories: Live Casino, Top Games, New, Slots, Jackpots, Blackjack, Roulette, Baccarat, Poker and Instant Win. We did not open the games inside them, so we can't tell you how many titles Betway offers in Alberta, which software studios supply them, or what return to player any game has.
The terms say a malfunction in a game voids the wagers placed during it and that the result on Betway's server is the official one. They also warn that slow networks or devices can put you at a disadvantage, or make it look that way, and that live broadcasts may be delayed.
Sportsbook
Betway's Alberta sportsbook covers hockey, football, basketball and many other sports, but we captured only its betting-rules index, not the rule bodies.
The sportsbook page lists NFL, hockey, soccer, UFC, baseball, football, basketball, tennis and golf, plus cricket, Formula 1, Aussie rules, badminton, cycling, darts, esports, Gaelic games, handball, rugby, snooker, table tennis and volleyball. It has a Live tab and fixture listings showing spread, total and money-line prices, and tabs for Pick'em and Game of the Week.
Betting rules
The betting-rules page indexes General Rules, Maximum Payouts, Cash Out, Live Streaming, Betting Systems, Betting Markets Offered and Live In-Running Betting Rules, with a rules list for each sport. We captured only that index. We therefore can't give you payout caps, cash-out conditions or in-play rules, and you should read the rule pages yourself before you bet.
Betway app
We found no Alberta-scoped Betway app, only a Canada-wide Apple listing from a different developer.
The Apple Canada listing for Betway Sports Betting - Live names Digital Outsource International Limited as the developer, not Cadway Limited, and its text covers Canada as a whole: 18+ in Alberta and the rest of Canada, 19+ in Ontario. Nothing in it ties it to Alberta's regulated iGaming market, so we don't list it.
Betway's own Alberta terms and privacy notice refer to apps and mobile applications in general, so one may exist. Until a listing names Alberta and Cadway Limited, use the website, and check the seller before you install anything.
Customer support
Betway lists live chat and three email addresses, one each for general support, limits and formal complaints, and states no support hours.
The terms say customer support can be reached by email at support@betway.ca. The responsible-gambling page tells you to contact Customer Service via albertasupport@betway.ca or live chat to set or adjust a deposit limit. A note in the terms refers to "24/7 Customer Support", which is the operator's own wording; no hours are stated, so we claim none.
Complaints
A formal complaint goes to albertamanager@betway.ca within six months of the issue, with your username, your registered name, a detailed explanation and any relevant dates and times. Betway says it makes best efforts to resolve it within 10 days, extended by a further 10 days where it has valid reasons and tells you.
If you are not satisfied, you can refer it to the independent dispute entity the terms name, eCOGRA, which is free to use and whose ruling both sides treat as final. You can also call AGLC on 1-800-742-7818.
Help Centre
Betway's Help Centre address redirected us to a non-Alberta version that names a Maltese licence, and the Alberta contact page returned a 404, so we used none of that content.
- Live chat: Betway live chat on the website
- Email: support@betway.ca
- Email: albertasupport@betway.ca (setting or adjusting limits)
- Email: albertamanager@betway.ca (formal complaints)
Account and verification
You must be 18 or older and in Alberta, and Betway can terminate an account it cannot verify.
Age, identity and location
The terms say you must be at least 18, give your name, address and date of birth at registration, and may be asked for a government photo ID, or a passport or driver's licence, plus a card or bank statement under three months old. Health cards are not accepted. If Betway cannot complete verification it says it will terminate your account, and you may hold only one account.
The terms say the website is available only to people located in Alberta. The privacy notice says Betway collects your IP address and the location of the device you use, to make sure you are authorised to use Betway where you are. We found no page describing how the location check works.
Deposits and the name on your card
A card or bank account must carry the same name as your Betway account, or Betway may suspend the account. Third-party funds are prohibited, so deposits must come from your own accounts. The terms say credit is prohibited, and Betway may run credit checks on cardholders. We found no Alberta page listing the payment methods Betway accepts, so we list none and give no minimum deposit.
Withdrawals
Betway says it pays a withdrawal back by the method you deposited with where possible, and otherwise to an alternative method that belongs to you. It may ask for identification and proof you own the account first. A pending period of up to 72 hours applies before the withdrawal goes to processing, and the terms say this may vary at weekends.
The minimum withdrawal is $10, and the terms say payment charges may be incurred. Some funds may be processed by Digiprocessing Limited, a Gibraltar company, on behalf of Cadway Limited.
Closing and dormancy
You can close your account through support or the Account Closure function on the responsible-gambling page, and should withdraw your balance first. Betway can close an account for any reason on 14 days' written notice. An account with no login for 12 months is charged $5 a month, and after 24 months it is treated as dormant and closed.
Your data
The privacy notice names Cadway Limited as data controller, cites Alberta's Protection of Privacy Act and Personal Information Protection Act, and gives albertaprivacyexecutive@betway.ca for requests. It says personal information is stored within the EEA and may be moved outside Alberta, financial data is kept for at least six years, and calls and correspondence for at least three.
- Identity verification: Betway's terms say you must be at least 18, and that it checks your details electronically and may ask for a government photo ID, or a passport or driver's licence, plus a card or bank statement under three months old. Health cards are not accepted, and if it cannot complete verification it says it will terminate your account. (Betway (external site))
- Location verification: Betway's terms say its website is available only to people located in Alberta. Its privacy notice says it collects your IP address and the location of your device to make sure you are authorised to use Betway where you are; the pages we captured do not describe how the check works. (Betway (external site))
Responsible-gambling tools
Betway lists deposit, loss and session limits, a break of 24 hours to three months, account closure, self-exclusion from six months to five years, and an activity statement.
Limits
Deposit limits can be daily, weekly or monthly. A decrease applies at once, while an increase or removal takes effect after a 24-hour cooling-off period. Betway says to set or adjust one through albertasupport@betway.ca or live chat. Loss limits use the same periods and can be set at registration or changed on the responsible-gambling page or through support.
Session limits, also daily, weekly or monthly, are set after login using Set Limits, with the same instant decrease and 24-hour wait for an increase. The page's limit times run on GMT, so a daily limit resets at 00:00 GMT.
Breaks and exclusion
The take a break option restricts access to your account from 24 hours up to three months. Account closure is a separate option, and an account can be re-opened by contacting customer service once at least 24 hours have passed.
Self-exclusion runs for 6 months, 1, 2, 3, 4 or 5 years across all brands managed by Cadway Limited. Bets in play stand, and the account is not reactivated automatically afterwards: you must ask, and a further 24-hour cooling-off applies.
The AGLC Self-Exclusion Program is separate, and enrolling in it does not change a Betway exclusion. The page gives 1-844-468-8034 and se@aglc.ca.
Records and checks
An activity statement shows each session's start and duration for up to six months, and your transaction and betting history for at least six months. Betway runs checks on how customers gamble and may impose restrictions, including deposit limits, if it thinks you are at risk. The page lists 211 Alberta and GameSense at 1-833-447-7523. We found no reality-check tool on the page.
- Deposit Limits — Daily, weekly or monthly deposit limits; a decrease applies at once and an increase or removal has a 24-hour cooling-off. Set or adjust through albertasupport@betway.ca or live chat.
- Loss Limits — Daily, weekly or monthly loss limits, set at registration or changed on the responsible-gambling page or through support; a decrease applies at once.
- Session Limits — Daily, weekly or monthly limits on time spent on Betway, set after login using Set Limits; a decrease applies at once and an increase has a 24-hour cooling-off.
- Take a Break — Restricts access to your account from 24 hours up to three months.
- Self-Exclusion — Exclusion for 6 months, 1, 2, 3, 4 or 5 years across all brands managed by Cadway Limited; reactivation is only at your request and after a further 24-hour cooling-off.
- AGLC Self-Exclusion Program — Alberta's Self-Exclusion Program, separate from any exclusion arranged with Betway, covers Alberta's casino and racing entertainment centres, regulated iGaming platforms, or a combination; contact 1-844-468-8034 or se@aglc.ca.
Is Betway legal in Alberta?
Yes: Betway runs in Alberta under an AGLC iGaming operator registration held by Cadway Limited.
Betway holds an AGLC "iGaming - Operator" registration.
The site is operated by Cadway Limited.
AGLC's registrant list shows Cadway Limited as an iGaming - Operator running to July 13, 2027, with betway.ca printed beside the name. AiGC's Registered iGaming Sites directory lists Betway.
What Betway itself says
The terms say Betway is a brand managed by Cadway Limited, an Alderney company, which operates under an Operating Agreement with Alberta iGaming Corporation and is registered with and regulated by AGLC and the Alderney Gambling Control Commission. The terms are governed by Alberta law, and proceedings must be brought in Alberta.
Our recheck
We fetched every Betway page for this review on 16 October 2026 from Limassol, Cyprus, which is not an Alberta connection, and the Alberta pages loaded. The limit of this check is that we have no capture from an Alberta connection, and we did not open an account.
Compare every brand AGLC and AiGC list on the registered operator tracker, or see the best online casinos in Alberta, the best casino apps in Alberta, the best Alberta sportsbooks, and the best sports betting apps in Alberta.
Checked .
Frequently asked questions
Is Betway legal in Alberta?
Yes. AGLC lists Cadway Limited as an iGaming operator running to July 13, 2027, with betway.ca printed beside it, and AiGC's Registered iGaming Sites directory lists Betway.
How old do you have to be to use Betway in Alberta?
You must be at least 18 and located in Alberta, according to Betway's terms.
How long do Betway withdrawals take?
The terms describe a pending period of up to 72 hours, which may vary at weekends, before a withdrawal goes to processing. We found no page stating how long each payment method then takes.
What is the minimum withdrawal at Betway?
$10, according to the terms, which add that payment charges may be incurred.
Which payment methods does Betway accept in Alberta?
We don't know. We found no Alberta page listing them, and the Help Centre redirected to a non-Alberta version, so check the cashier.
Does Betway have an app in Alberta?
We found no Alberta-scoped app. The Apple listing we found covers Canada as a whole and comes from a different developer, so check the seller before installing.
What responsible-gambling tools does Betway offer?
Deposit, loss and session limits, a take a break option of 24 hours to three months, account closure, self-exclusion from six months to five years, and an activity statement.
How do I make a complaint about Betway?
Email albertamanager@betway.ca within six months of the issue. If unresolved, you can use eCOGRA, which is free, or call AGLC on 1-800-742-7818.
Ready to visit Betway?
Official Alberta registered site · 18+ only · Play responsibly
Sources and method
- Betway — Terms and Conditions | Betway Alberta (external site) Checked
- Betway — Casino | Betway Alberta (external site) Checked
- Betway — Sports | Betway Alberta (external site) Checked
- Betway — Responsible Gambling | Betway Alberta (external site) Checked
- Betway — Privacy and Security | Betway Alberta (external site) Checked
- Betway — Betting Rules index | Betway Alberta (external site) Checked
- Betway — Help Centre redirect check | Betway (external site) Checked
- Apple App Store — Betway app store check (external site) Checked